“I don’t want to leave this place. It’s perfect here.”

I found myself saying those words last weekend. I was on a trip with some of my friends on a remote beach (the place doesn’t have electricity or mobile reception). We rode a boat to the cove we were supposed to stay, set up camp, then proceeded too swim, trek and play games ’til the next day.

I felt really far away from reality. From the hectic schedules of work to the constant connectivity to the internet, it felt like a different life. And I liked it. The day felt really long, but in a fun way, and I was enjoying every moment with my buddies, be it swimming, treking or even sleeping. I didn’t want the weekend to end.

Then, inevitably, it ended. We went home. And I went to work the next day.

I was really dissapointed, comforted only by the thought that I could relive those two wonderful days, in a way, in my memory. It reminded me of one of my favorite parts in C.S. lewis’ story Out of the Silent Planet.

Hyoi, the malacandrian, was telling Ransom about a pleasure being complete only by being remembered. A meeting with another person is nothing. But as time pass, it is growing.

“What it will be when I remember it as I lie down to die, what it makes in me all my days till then – that is the real meeting.  The other is only the beginning of it.” – Hyoi

I didn’t need to stay on that place and time forever to enjoy it. The way I remember it and how it affects my life, that is the real pleasure. I can imagine myself years from now, older (and hopefully wiser 😉 ) sitting, remembering the experience then smiling, as I jog through more memories that I will be making with those dear friends, treasuring every moment that comes to mind.

The only pleasure that I can think that could surpass the feeling of me remembering all the memories is future me rememebring all of those memories with my dear friends whom I shared those experiences with.

